I’m Sorry

Today’s Daily Prompt for non-fiction writers is: You’re stuck in an elevator with a person from your past. Write this scene.


Me:
I’m sorry.

I’m sorry there were times when you spoke to me and I wasn’t really listening.

I’m sorry I decided to stay in college all those weekends instead of coming home to visit.

I’m sorry I never did my dishes.

I’m sorry for not picking up the phone.

I’m sorry I didn’t know that you were sick.

I’m sorry that when I found out I listened to others instead of my heart.

I’m sorry I came home too late.

I’m sorry that trying to be strong made me distant.

I’m sorry I lied to you that he sent you those flowers – I wanted you to think I’d be okay.

I’m sorry that I asked a God I don’t believe in to take you away – I wanted to give you peace.

I’m sorry that I never realised how much you meant until you were gone.

I’m sorry that I can never tell you how much I love you.

Mother:
I knew.

I’m Sorry

6 thoughts on “I’m Sorry

Join In

