Switch into my Mind

Today’s Daily Prompt for non-fiction writers is: If you could switch blogs with any blogger for a week, with whom would you switch and why?


The person I’d like to switch blogs with is my partner.

I have no idea if he has a blog. I don’t think so. And if he did, I don’t know if it would be a personal or a professional one. But for the sake of argument, let’s image he had a blog entitled “Living with an Irritated Dysthymic in London”. That would be the one blog on the interwebs that I’d really love to get into the guts of.

Depression is a selfish illness. I think I’m allowed to say that, though it may upset some people, as I’ve been on both sides of it. I have suffered from the immersion in self and self-pity of a parent. And I have seen myself do the same thing to others. It’s not pleasant, but it’s true.

Of course I can speculate and infer from his comments, from our open discussions & from just my general “sense” of him how he is feeling and how my current mood is affecting him. But I can never really know 100% what being with me is like for me. Unless I had a window into his soul, which I think this imaginary blog would be.

Why would I want to switch, you might ask, surely I could just read it? Well, perhaps in switching I would reach an audience that currently excludes me – usually because they don’t want to upset me with brutal honesty. I could access the friends, family & partners of my fellow miserable cows & bulls! I think these people are only truly honest about depression amongst themselves, as us sufferers are too. And I think that, once in a while,  a dose of reality about the hurtful effects of my actions on others would be a good kick up the arse!

Switch into my Mind

3 thoughts on “Switch into my Mind

Join In

