Immortal – Plenty of Time to Wallow

A recent Daily Prompt was: You’ve imbibed a special potion that makes you immortal. Now that you’ve got forever, what changes will you make in your life? How will you live life differently, knowing you’ll always be around to be accountable for your actions?


Despite all of the opportunities to travel, experience new things, learn 20 languages, etc. that this could present, my gut reaction on seeing the prompt was “oh wow, I’d have time to wallow”. I spend my entire life fighting against my brain’s instinct to sit in a corner with the lights out, not even bothering to rock back and forth. The flight of my own personal fight or flight battle.

Time ticks by – sometimes it feels as if a year is gone in mere seconds. Already I have reached July without quite finding a purpose to my 2013, though I feel as if I’m still standing at January 1st deciding what to make of the year ahead. I should probably get started! So if I had all the time in the world, I’d pick flight. I’d lie down and I’d let my brain win. I’d press pause on my Type A personality, knowing I’d have time to deal with the consequences – no opportunities would be lost, promotions would come around again and there would always be “next time”.

The bliss that I know awaits me underneath my duvet, the relief of not fighting every single second of every single day, would be worth more than any foreign adventure or once-in-a-lifetime experience. I’d gift myself the beauty that is “giving in”….just for a little while.

Immortal – Plenty of Time to Wallow

6 thoughts on “Immortal – Plenty of Time to Wallow

  1. “Already I have reached July without quite finding a purpose to my 2013” – I can really relate to this. Back in January I had such certainty that I would be further along in various things by this time. And yet, here it ism 1/2 way through the year. With me feeling like I am wallowing as well. I don’t know about you, but I then add a decidedly unhealthy dose of guilt on top too, guilt for not feeling better. Which, of course, doesn’t help.

    Maybe we can both try to reframe “giving in” as acceptance that life for us is moving a little slowly and that’s okay. If you manage to do this, let me know how! 😉

    Like

    1. I think the key might be learning to be kind to ourselves and not overly harsh or critical when we’re not quite up to scratch. If it was a friend we’d be supportive and understanding but to ourselves we are mean and judgemental!

      Of course knowing the key and making it happen are two different things entirely 🙂

      Like

  2. I’d be like that bloke in Groundhog Day, trying to top himself every day….

    I’d only be immortal if I could be a vampire, or werewolf or something, at least then I’d have some frigging fun…. 😉

    Like

Join In

