Opinionated Mina: Most Exciting Place

Another response to The Opinionated Man’s blogging challenge. This time to: What is the most exciting place you have visited? Do you have a photo?


20130716-000147.jpg

Exciting can be a different concept for everyone. Some find white water rafting exciting. I’d call it terrifying. Some would be excited by spotting the next train on their spotting wish list. I’d be asleep in the corner. For me, excitement comes from doing something I never thought I’d be able to.

One place that inspired that kind of excitement for me is Mostar, Bosnia & Herzegovina. I will never forget the butterflies in my stomach and the glow of happiness that spread through me on my arrival there. I stood in the footpath, totally irrelevant to those passing me by, and pressed the pedestrian button. Then it hit me. I was in Bosnia. Alone. I had quit my job and left home to travel the world. Bloody hell!

It’s funny how certain moments stick with you. I have pressed many pedestrian buttons in the course of my life. Hundreds probably. Some of them in exotic locations, some not so much. But standing there that day, casually crossing the street in a country most people would barely be able to find on a map, well that made me feel about six feet tall. And if that’s not exciting then I don’t know what is!

As for the photo, well coincidentally my picture of the famous Mostar bridge is probably the best pic I’ve ever taken.

Opinionated Mina: Most Exciting Place

3 thoughts on “Opinionated Mina: Most Exciting Place

Join In

